The Go! Team – Rolling Blackouts [2011]

Posted in indie electronic,indie rock by deek on December 11, 2010

The Go! Team is releasing its third full-length album, Rolling Blackouts, in early 2011 on British-based label Memphis Industries. The album cover is a collage of images that are as eclectic as the English sextet itself. Rolling Blackouts features guest vocal appearances by Deerhoof’s Satomi Matsuzaki and Best Coast’s Bethany Cosentino. After a nearly four year hiatus, Brighton’s eclectic sextet is back with an album that has a song for almost everyone. Per usual, founding member Parton has cleverly figured out to push the boundaries of several genres, while combining them to create a unique sound. If you like dance-driven hip-hop, then you’ll be happy, and the same goes if you California-driven indie pop. Sometimes, inconsistency over the course of a record can be distracting, but somehow, The Go! Team not only makes their interesting track selection and musical work, but it sounds terrific. -FILTER Magazine

Glasser – Ring [2010]

Posted in art pop,indie electronic,synth pop by deek on December 8, 2010

It’s a shame ‘witch house’ is already taken, because, as a handle that suggests a potent, enchanting fusion of seductive gothic atmosphere with digital chill, it’d be better suited to the work of LA’s Cameron Mesirow than the oppressive drag of Salem et al. The likes of the high-priestess menace
of ‘Apply’, in which an lustrously aloof Mesirow admonishes, “If the walls were too thin/You would break right in”, and the gently lurching 21st century spiritual of ‘Glad’, are, like fellow dark ladies Warpaint and Effi Briest, informed by bleak post-punk moods and tribal echoes. Here, though, they’re cleansed in a crisp, modern starkness that’s closer to Telepathe, Zola Jesus or Fever Ray. But, despite forbiddingly minimal song titles like ‘T’ and ‘Plane Temp’, Glasser’s glowing debut offers more melodic and emotional consummation than almost any of her peers can muster, poised in a genuinely transcendent golden balance between the stern, the spacious and the gaudily sparkling. A very precious ‘Ring’ indeed. -nme

Sufjan Stevens – The Age of Adz [2010]

Posted in art pop,chamber pop,indie electronic,progressive pop by deek on October 23, 2010

Known for his genre-bending instrumentation and soulful lyricism, the Detroit-born indie rocker returns five years after his last proper album with an experimental variety of electro-orchestral folk pop songs. -metacritic

Holy Fuck – Latin [2010]

Posted in electronic,indie electronic by deek on April 26, 2010

Holy Fuck is a band based in Toronto, Canada. The band has, at various times, included members of King Cobb Steelie, By Divine Right, Wintersleep, Enon, and Blue Rodeo. Their current line-up includes the original and core members Brian Borcherdt and Graham Walsh with Matt Schulz on drums and Matt McQuaid on bass. Holy Fuck uses live drums and bass along with a myriad of toy keyboards, guitar pedals, mixers and even a 35mm film synchronizer to mimic modern electronic music, consciously avoiding modern fail-safes like laptops and programmed backing tracks. They have brought this sound to festivals like Glastonbury, Roskilde, Coachella, Lollapalooza, Fuji Rock and All Tomorrow’s Parties. And they’ve toured and supported artists such as M.I.A., Wolf Parade, !!!, Mouse on Mars, Cornelius, Super Furry Animals and Phoenix. All the while using the same duct-taped keyboards, film editing gear and all without rehearsing. ‘Latin’, Holy Fuck’s new album, comes out on May 11, 2010 on the Young Turks/XL label. They will be touring Europe, the UK and the United States soon after in support of the album.

(link in comments)

MGMT – Congratulations [2010]

Posted in indie electronic,indie rock,progressive pop by deek on March 19, 2010


MGMT began writing for the album in early 2009 in a “small cabin in the woods”, eventually heading to Malibu to record with Pete Kember, ex-member of Spacemen 3, and vocal contributions from Royal Trux singer Jennifer Herrema VanWyngarden has stated that the album is influenced by the band’s massive rise in popularity since Oracular Spectacular’s release. “It’s us trying to deal with all the craziness that’s been going on since our last album took off. Sometimes it just doesn’t feel natural.” Paul McCartney has reported to have an interest in working with MGMT, “on some more dancey stuff with them.” On January 12, 2010, Andrew Van Wyngarden declared the album finished in an interview on the Spin Magazine website, saying: “It’s mixed and mastered, and now we’re just working on presenting it to the world”. On January 18, MGMT stated that they would prefer not releasing any singles on the new album. In an interview with NME the duo explained that new album is meant to be a complete body of songs rather than an album with standout singles. “We’d rather people hear the whole album as an album and see what tracks jump out rather than the ones that get played on the radio – if anything gets played on the radio!” Goldwasser explained. He added: “There definitely isn’t a ‘Time to Pretend’ or a ‘Kids’ on the album. We’ve been talking about ways to make sure people hear the album as an album in order and not just figure out what are the best three tracks, download those and not listen to the rest of it.” On February 5, 2010, a countdown clock appeared on the band’s website alongside a short still of a beach. The clock will eventually countdown to midnight (EST) on the morning of April 13 2010, hinting the new album will be released on that day. On March 9, 2010, the band released the song “Flash Delirium” as a free download. On March 19, 2010, the album was leaked in it’s entirety to the internet via file hosting websites.

Jaguar Love – Hologram Jams [2010]

Posted in dance-punk,experimental,indie electronic by deek on February 24, 2010


Jaguar Love is an American indie rock band from Portland, Oregon / Seattle, Washington that formed in 2007. Jaguar Love is one of two bands that have sprung out of the 2007 break-up of experimental hardcore band The Blood Brothers (the other being Past Lives, comprising ex-singer Jordan Blilie, ex-drummer Mark Gajadhar, ex-bassist Morgan Henderson, and original Blood Brothers guitarist Devin Welch).

Xiu Xiu – Fabulous Muscles [2004]

Posted in art pop,experimental,indie electronic by deek on February 15, 2010

Hot Chip – One Life Stand [2010]

Posted in indie electronic,indie pop by deek on January 14, 2010

Neon Indian – Psychic Chasms [2009]

Posted in indie electronic,synth pop by deek on July 30, 2009

Shiny Toy Guns – Season of Poison [2009]

Posted in electronica,indie electronic,rock by deek on July 26, 2009
Next Page »