LCD Soundsystem – This Is Happening [2010]

Posted in dance-punk,electronic,electronica,indie rock,new wave by deek on April 26, 2010

LCD Soundsystem is the musical side project of producer James Murphy, co-founder of New York City dance-punk label DFA Records. Formed in 2002, the music of LCD Soundsystem can also be described as a mix of alternative dance and post punk, along with elements of disco and other styles. During live performances, Murphy is accompanied by Al Doyle (guitar, percussion — also of Hot Chip), Phil Skarich (bass), Nancy Whang (keyboards) and Pat Mahoney (drums) Previous members include Tyler Pope (!!! / Out Hud) (bass), Phil Mossman (guitar, percussion). LCD Soundsystem gained attention with its first single, “Losing My Edge”. The song, which sounds like the boastings of a music geek put to an electronic beat, received acclaim in 2002. Murphy released a double album simply titled LCD Soundsystem in February of 2005 to critical acclaim. The first disk of the album contains new music and the second contains rereleases of songs previously released as singles. The opening track “Daft Punk Is Playing At My House” entered the uk Top 40 in March 2005. On December 8, 2005 the group received nominations for two Grammys in the electronica category for their self-titled album and in the Dance category for “Daft Punk Is Playing At My House”. This album was also chosen as one of Amazon.com’s Top 100 Editor’s Picks of 2005. In March 2007, the band released their second album entitled Sound Of Silver. The album has spawned four singles including “North American Scum”, “All My Friends”, “Someone Great” and “Time To Get Away”. Sound Of Silver saw a move towards a more traditional song writing approach whilst still maintaining the production values of their eponymous debut effort.

(link in comments)

Caribou – Swim [2010]

Posted in canadian,electronic,electronica,experimental,indie by jheisel on March 11, 2010

Jónsi – Go [2010]

Posted in ambient,ambient pop,art pop,dream pop,electronica,orchestral by deek on March 10, 2010

Toro y Moi – Causers of This [2010]

Posted in chillout,electronica by lifetimeguerintee on March 5, 2010

Fever Ray – S/T [2009]

Posted in electronica,electropop by deek on February 20, 2010

Imogen Heap – Ellipse [2009]

Posted in electronica,indie by deek on August 23, 2009

Owl City – Maybe I'm Dreaming [2008]

Posted in electronica,indie pop by deek on August 23, 2009

Maps – Turning the Mind [2009]

Posted in electronica,indie by deek on August 23, 2009

Rhetoric Disguise – Sodium Oxybate (The Psycho Dandy Remixes)

Posted in electronica by deek on August 21, 2009

Shiny Toy Guns – Season of Poison [2009]

Posted in electronica,indie electronic,rock by deek on July 26, 2009
Next Page »