LCD Soundsystem – This Is Happening [2010]

Posted in dance-punk,electronic,electronica,indie rock,new wave by deek on April 26, 2010

LCD Soundsystem is the musical side project of producer James Murphy, co-founder of New York City dance-punk label DFA Records. Formed in 2002, the music of LCD Soundsystem can also be described as a mix of alternative dance and post punk, along with elements of disco and other styles. During live performances, Murphy is accompanied by Al Doyle (guitar, percussion — also of Hot Chip), Phil Skarich (bass), Nancy Whang (keyboards) and Pat Mahoney (drums) Previous members include Tyler Pope (!!! / Out Hud) (bass), Phil Mossman (guitar, percussion). LCD Soundsystem gained attention with its first single, “Losing My Edge”. The song, which sounds like the boastings of a music geek put to an electronic beat, received acclaim in 2002. Murphy released a double album simply titled LCD Soundsystem in February of 2005 to critical acclaim. The first disk of the album contains new music and the second contains rereleases of songs previously released as singles. The opening track “Daft Punk Is Playing At My House” entered the uk Top 40 in March 2005. On December 8, 2005 the group received nominations for two Grammys in the electronica category for their self-titled album and in the Dance category for “Daft Punk Is Playing At My House”. This album was also chosen as one of Amazon.com’s Top 100 Editor’s Picks of 2005. In March 2007, the band released their second album entitled Sound Of Silver. The album has spawned four singles including “North American Scum”, “All My Friends”, “Someone Great” and “Time To Get Away”. Sound Of Silver saw a move towards a more traditional song writing approach whilst still maintaining the production values of their eponymous debut effort.

(link in comments)

Radio 4 – The New Song and Dance [2000]

Posted in dance-punk,indie,indie rock,post-punk,rock by jheisel on March 25, 2010

Jaguar Love – Hologram Jams [2010]

Posted in dance-punk,experimental,indie electronic by deek on February 24, 2010


Jaguar Love is an American indie rock band from Portland, Oregon / Seattle, Washington that formed in 2007. Jaguar Love is one of two bands that have sprung out of the 2007 break-up of experimental hardcore band The Blood Brothers (the other being Past Lives, comprising ex-singer Jordan Blilie, ex-drummer Mark Gajadhar, ex-bassist Morgan Henderson, and original Blood Brothers guitarist Devin Welch).

The Dismemberment Plan – The Dismemberment Plan Is Terrified! [1997]

Posted in dance-punk,indie,post-punk by deek on August 6, 2009




Midnight Juggernauts – Dystopia [2007]

Posted in dance-punk,electropop by deek on May 27, 2009

Matt & Kim – Grand (2009)

Posted in dance-punk by deek on April 14, 2009

Jaguar Love – Take Me to the Sea (2008)

Posted in dance-punk,indie electronic by deek on April 4, 2009

Liquid Liquid – Optimo (1983)

Posted in dance-punk,no-wave by deek on March 24, 2009

Death From Above 1979 – You're a Woman, I'm a Machine [2004]

Posted in dance-punk,indie rock by deek on March 12, 2009

Damn Arms – Patterns EP [2006]

Posted in dance-punk,electro,indie by deek on March 9, 2009
Next Page »