The National – High Violet [2010]

Posted in alternative,chamber pop,indie rock,post-punk by deek on May 29, 2010

The National is a Brooklyn-based alternative rock band formed in 1999, by friends from Cincinnati, Ohio. The band’s lyrics are written and sung by Matt Berninger in a distinctive, deep baritone. The rest of the band is composed of two pairs of brothers: Aaron and Bryce Dessner and Scott and Bryan Devendorf. Aaron plays guitar, bass and piano, Bryce plays guitar, Scott plays bass and guitar, and Bryan is the drummer. Their self-titled debut album “The National” (Brassland 2001) was recorded and released before they had played even a single show. They cut the album with engineer Nick Lloyd and formed a label with writer Alec Bemis, so those recordings could be released. Kerrang! magazine gave it four Ks, calling it “the stuff underground legends are made of.” The National made a second album, “Sad Songs for Dirty Lovers” (Brassland/Talitres 2003). The staff was the same, though Peter Katis, who produced both Interpol records, helped produce and mix, and Australian composer Padma Newsome from Clogs collaborated on arrangements and strings. Following the first session of several for Bernard Lenoir on France’s Radio Inter, an in-between EP was released, Cherry Tree, containing what would become the blueprint for the sound on their next record and the session of Sad Song’s standout Murder Me Rachael. After these accolades and being impressed by their live show, Roger Trust signed them to Beggars Banquet.

(link in comments)

The Whigs – In the Dark (2010)

Posted in alternative,indie,indie rock,rock by jheisel on March 14, 2010

The Fall – Our Future Your Clutter (2010)

Posted in alternative,indie,new wave,post-punk,punk rock by jheisel on March 7, 2010

Past Lives – Tapestry of Webs [2010]

Posted in alternative,experimental,indie,indie rock,post-hardcore by jheisel on March 1, 2010

Black Rebel Motorcycle Club – Beat the Devil’s Tattoo [2010]

Posted in alternative,garage rock,indie rock,psychedelic rock by deek on February 25, 2010


Black Rebel Motorcycle Club is a rock band from San Francisco, United States now based in Los Angeles. The band formed in 1998. They are influenced by Johnny Cash, The Rolling Stones, Iggy Pop and the Stooges, The Brian Jonestown Massacre, The Doors, Sex Pistols, The Ramones and 1980s British acts like Spacemen 3 and especially The Jesus and Mary Chain. Their style also encompassed slower paced psychedelic dreamy grooves influenced by shoegazers like My Bloody Valentine and Ride. Recently, with their third record Howl, they developed a new sound somewhere between blues, folk, gospel and rock, but still with their old melancholy. The band’s second album ‘Take Them On, On Your Own’ featured several songs (‘Generation’ and ‘US Government’) which were critical of the United States’ foreign policy and George Bush in particular. After conflict with their label (Virgin Records), the band was dropped in 2004. Nick Jago left the band at the end of their summer tour in the same year due to “internal conflict”. Following Jago’s departure Peter Hayes and Robert Levon Been regrouped and recorded the band’s third album. In 2005 the band inked a new deal with Echo in the UK, and RCA in the US. Nick Jago also returned to the fold. The band’s third album “Howl” was released that same year to widespread critical acclaim. Jago returned after most of the album was recorded but played on “Promise”. “Baby 81” the band’s fourth album was released on May 1st, 2007. In June 2008 Nick Jago once again left the touring line-up of the band being replaced by The Raveonettes’ touring drummer Leah Shapiro. Nick stated that “…I am fired again and to be honest with you I respect their decision”. However Hayes and Been released a conflicting joint statement that read “Nick won’t be joining us for the upcoming European tour, but it’s not true that he is fired. We just feel Nick needs time to sort out exactly what he wants right now. His heart and all his energy and attention is on his own solo project and he needs to see that through”.

Pavement – Quarantine the Past: The Best of Pavement [2010]

Posted in alternative,indie pop,indie rock,lo-fi,noise pop,noise rock by deek on February 21, 2010

The Stills- Logic Will Break Your Heart [2003]

Posted in alternative,indie rock by umwut on January 20, 2010

Radiohead – These Are My Twisted Words (single) [2009]

Posted in alternative by deek on August 24, 2009

Babes In Toyland – Spanking Machine [1990]

Posted in alternative,punk rock by deek on August 23, 2009

Elastica – Elastica [1995]

Posted in alternative,britpop,indie by deek on August 20, 2009
Next Page »