Air Formation – Nothing To Wish For (Nothing To Lose) [2010]

Posted in noise pop,shoegaze by deek on February 25, 2010


Air Formation hail from Sussex in the south of England. They are Matt Bartram (vocals, guitar), Ben Pierce (bass), Richard Parks (keyboards), James Harrison (drums) & Ian Sheridan (Guitar). The band has been creating uplifting song based space-rock since late 1999. Born out of a love for ‘Flying Saucer Attack’ and the likes of ‘Spacemen 3’ & ‘The Jesus and Mary Chain’ Air Formation create songs awash with heavily delayed guitar and feedback, interwoven with keyboard drones and whispered vocals. Over the past 7 years the band has released two albums ‘Ends in Light’ (Drive-In Records 2002) & ‘Stay Inside/ Feel Everything’ (Clairecords 2004,) alongside numerous other releases. The turning point for the band came in 2005 when they recorded the beautiful ‘57 Octaves Below’ EP with legendary producer Pat Collier (The House of Love). As well as being their first recording with an expanded line up it was also their first release on UK label ‘Club AC30’ and was extremely well received…… ‘’57 Octaves Below’ is simply astonishing, as each track could hold its own as a formal “A side” among any peers both past and present. Remarkable. 9/10’‘Drowned In Sound. In the summer of 2006 the band returned to Pat Collier and recorded the new album ‘Daylight Storms’. This album was released by Club AC30 in February 2007. In November 2008 they released a new 7” “Things that don’t exist / Fires” on Distant Noise Records.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: